Tags

, , , , , , ,

I woke up starvingggggggggggggg this morning!

Which is unusual for me since I rarely eat breakfast. I know that’s suppose to be bad but I find when I eat breakfast I get hungry much earlier or nauseous until the afternoon. In fact, I hate most breakfast foods. So, I was in a dilemma.

I had two choices: eggs or strawberries. Neither sounded appetizing on their own. So, I made Crepes instead! They count as dessert as well so I was cheating a little with breakfast.

When I was in high school, Crepes were a big deal. My french teacher, after school, would make them every month and bring in all sorts of toppings. Kids would come in and bring them upstairs to snack and work on their math (it was allowed as long as you brought our math teachers a plate with extra whip cream)! I also was friends with Madame’s daughter and was invited to slumber parties where we would eat crepes in the morning with fruit. So, I missed them!(The crepes, but my friends too!!)

Today’s crepes were delicious!!! I wished I took photos to show you but I forgot 😦 And I was really hungry as well…. but I can give the recipe to you so you can try! It’s really easy.

These were just plain Strawberry Crepes, but you add cream if you desire or a hint of chocolate dressing. Powder sugar is great for crepes and strawberries as well.


Strawberry Filling

2 cups frozen sliced strawberries, thawed

2 tablespoons sugar

1/2 teaspoon orange zest, optional

3 cups fresh strawberries, sliced

Gently puree 2 cups of strawberries. Stir in sugar, orange zest if using, and fresh sliced strawberries. Serve strawberry filling at room temperature.

Crepes

Makes eight servings:

1 cup all-purpose flour

2 eggs

1/2 cup milk

1/2 cup water

1/4 teaspoon salt

 2 tablespoons butter, melted

1 teaspoon of Vanilla, optional

  1. In a large mixing bowl, whisk together the flour and the eggs. Gradually add in the milk and water, stirring to combine. Add the salt and butter; beat until smooth.
  2. Heat a lightly oiled griddle or frying pan over medium high heat. Pour or scoop the batter onto the griddle, using approximately 1/4 cup for each crepe. Tilt the pan with a circular motion so that the batter coats the surface evenly.
  3. Cook the crepe for about 2 minutes, until the bottom is light brown. Loosen with a spatula, turn and cook the other side. Serve hot.

Enjoy your crepes!! 🙂 They should look something like this!

